BUREAU OF INDIAN STANDARDS Resolution

Ground Water and Related Investigations Sectional Committee, WRD 03

26th Meeting

Day and Date	Time	Venue	Contact details
		BIS HQ, New Delhi	
29 th Nov 2024	10: 30AM	Click here: Meeting Link	wrd@bis.gov.in

CHAIRPERSON WRD 03:

Dr. A. Ashokan, Member (HQ) Central Ground Water Board, Faridabad

MEMBER SECRETARY:

Sh. Ajay Meena, Scientist – B/Assistant Director, WRD

Res 1. A working group formed to review the CV of new members.

- 1. Dr. Sanjay Marwaha, Personal Capacity
- 2. Dr. A. K. Kesari, Personal Capacity
- 3. Ms. Rumi Mukherjee, CGWB
- 4. Mr. Dhaval Pandya, Personal Capacity

CV of the following members received:

SL. NO.	ORGANIZATION	NAME
1.	Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology, Dehradun	Dr. Rouf Ahmed Shah, Scientist-C
2.		Mr. D B Vyas
3.	Dr BR Ambedkar national institute of technology, jalandhar	Shri Rohit Mehra
4.	GTEEPL	Smt. Fakira Bastia
5.	Department of Chemical Engineering, MANIT	Shri Suresh Sundaramurthy Mehra

Res 2. Co-opted the following members in the sectional committee:

SL. NO.	ORGANIZATION	NAME
1.	Tamil Nadu Water Supply and Drainage Board, Chennai	Shri. P. Natarajan, B.E., Engineering Director
		Shri. R. Ganapathi, Hydrogeologist (a/c)
2.	India Meteorological Department, New Delhi	Shri Rahul Saxena, Scientist G Shri Asok Raja,
		Scientist D (Alternate)
3.	Personal Capacity	Shri Shyam Lal Kapil

Res 3. Member Secretary to follow up with following organizations for nomination of experts

SL. NO.	ORGANIZATION
1.	Uttar Pradesh Ground Water Department, Uttar Pradesh
2.	Water Resources Department, Rajasthan

- **Res 4.** Committee resolved to drop document 25504 Impact Assessment Techniques for Artificial Recharge Structures and restart the project again
- **Res 5.** Committee finalized the document 21909 Hydrometry Geophysical logging of boreholes for hydrogeological purposes Considerations and guidelines for making measurements (IS 15755: 2007)
- **Res 6.** Committee resolved to drop document 17098 Guidelines for Aquifer Mapping and restart the project again. Committee constituted a working group to prepare the draft document.
 - 1. Dr. A. K. Kesari
 - 2. Dr. I. C. Das, NRSC
 - 3. Mr. Naresh Gor, Gujarat Water Supply and Sewerage Board, Gandhinagar
 - 4. Mr. Ranjan Roy, CGWB
 - 5. Mr. Dhaval Pandya

Res 7. Committee approved the nominations of following members for various activities of ISO

Sr. No.	Name	Organization	Email	Role at ISO
1.	Dr. Sanjay Marwaha Mr. Senthil Kumar	Personal Capacity CGWB	smarwaha-cgwb@nic.in	Project Leader for "Sub Surface Dykes/ Groundwater Dams for conservation/
2.	Shri Shyam Lal Kapil	Retired as ED from NHPC		recharge" Project Leader for the project "Site Selection for Surface Geophysical Methods"
3.	Ms. Rumi Mukherjee	Sc- D, CGWB	rumimukherjee- cgwb@gov.in	Project Leader for "Draft Guidelines for Aquifer Storage and Recovery"
4.	Mr. S. N. Dwivedi, Scientist -D	CGWB	shailendradwivedi- cgwb@gov.in	Expert in the Ad-hoc Group for the TC 113/SC 8 'Groundwater'
5.	Mr. Tapan Chakraborthy Mr. Vaibhav Eknath Gosawi	Sc- D. CGWB Sc- C, G B Pant Institute of Himalayan Enviroment and Development, Almora	tapan.chakraborty@gov.in vaibhav@gbpihed.nic.in	Project Leader for "Role of Springs in Water Supply Management in Hilly and Mountainous Terrain and Methodologies for Enhancement of its yield"

Res 8. Committee resolved to create a working group to deal with matters related to ISO activities on behalf of the sectional committee. The composition of the working group is as follow:

- 1. Dr. Sanjay Marwaha
- 2. Ms. Rumi Mukherjee
- 3. Mr. Vaibhav Eknath Gosawi

4. Shri Shyam Lal Kapil

Res 9. Committee approved the composition of the working group on Sustainable Groundwater Management. The composition of the working group is as follows:

- 1. Dr. Deepak Khare, IIT Roorkee
- 2. Dr. Sanjay Marwaha
- 3. Dr. A. K. Kesari
- 4. Mr. Dhaval Pandya
- 5. CGWB
- 6. India Water Aid
- 7. Mr. Dushyant Prajapati

Res 10. Committee created a working group to develop the holistic Indian Standard for Spring water Management. The composition of the working group:

- 1. Mr. Tapan Chakraborthy, CGWB
- 2. Mr. Vaibhav Eknath Gosavi, G B Pant University
- 3. ISRO
- 4. Mr. Dhaval Pandya
- 5. NGRI