RESOLUTIONS

Name of the Committee	No. of Meeting	Date	Time	Venue
Environment and Ecology Division Council, EEDC		08 October 2024 (Tuesday)	1000 h	Lal C Verman Hall, Manak Bhawan, Bureau of Indian Standards 9, Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg New Delhi – 110 002

CHAIRPERSON: Dr Vinod Bihari Mathur, In Personal Capacity

[Former IFS (Indian Forest Service) officer and Former Chairperson, National

Biodiversity Authority, New Delhi]

MEMBER SECRETARY: Smt Varsha Gupta, Scientist E/ Director & Head (Environment and Ecology), BIS

RESOLUTION 01/2024

Scope of Environment and Ecology Division Council, EEDC

The Council deliberated on its scope as presented under the Agenda Item 2.2 and felt the need for an in-depth review of its contents. The Council therefore constituted a Working Group (EEDC/WG 01 – Review the Scope of EEDC) comprising the following members to work on the scope:

- a) Dr Nazimuddin Central Pollution Control Board, New Delhi
- b) Shri Prabhjot Sodhi Centre for Environment Education, New Delhi
- c) Smt Tejashree Joshi Godrej Enterprises, Mumbai
- d) Shri Piyush Mohapatra Toxics Link, New Delhi
- e) Shri Ankur Rawal Council on Energy, Environment and Water, New Delhi
- f) Smt Varsha Gupta Bureau of Indian Standards

It was also agreed that members may provide their suggestions on the scope within 4 weeks of the issuance of Resolutions. After receiving the inputs/comments/suggestions from the members on the scope, the WG will conduct meeting(s) to deliberate on these inputs/comments/suggestions and will provide consolidated recommendations to the EEDC for further discussion and decision at its next meeting.

RESOLUTION 02/2024

Composition of EEDC

The Council reviewed and discussed the composition of EEDC presented at Agenda Item **2.3** and decided to co-opt the Indian Institute of Forest Management (IIFM), Bhopal in the Council.

RESOLUTION 03/2024

Scope of Sectional Committees Established Under EEDC

The Council examined the scope of the eight (08) Sectional Committees presented under the Agenda Items 3.2, 3.4, 3.5 and 3.6. Keeping in view the scope of the Environment Management Sectional

Committees, EED 01, the Council decided to split the work related to Circular Economy from it constituting a new Sectional Committee on Circular Economy.

The Council further opined that a comprehensive review is required to ensure that the scope of these Committees are appropriately aligned with their new designations and the areas specified under the EEDC framework. To start with, the members of the Council may provide their inputs/comments/suggestions on the scope of the eight (08) Sectional Committees along with the new Sectional Committee on Circular Economy by 18 Oct 2024 which may be discussed by the Working Group constituted to review the Scope of EEDC (EEDC/WG 01) in a meeting of this WG. The EEDC/WG 01 will provide their consolidated recommendations to align the scope of these Committees based on the inputs/comments/suggestions received, which will be finalized in consultation and approval of Chairperson EEDC. These recommendations will be circulated to the Council members along with the minutes of EEDC. The WG agreed to conduct the meeting on 21 Oct 2024.

RESOLUTION 04/2024

Appointment/ Reappointment of the Chairpersons of the Sectional Committees

The Council noted the information provided under Agenda Item 5, and also noted that on account of establishment of EEDC, the Sectional Committees transferred to EEDC from other Division Councils may be reconstituted by EEDC. The Council reviewed the progress of the Sectional Committees through their programme of work provided under Agenda Item 3.3 and decided as follows:

- a) Not to make any change in the Chairpersonship of EED 01, EED 02, EED 06 and EED 07;
- b) Members to provide suggestions for the nominations of Chairpersons of EED 03, EED 04, EED 05 and EED 08 and the new Sectional Committee on 'Circular Economy'.

The Council further requested the members to provide their suggestions for the nominations of Chairpersonship of EED 03, EED 04, EED 05 and EED 08 and the new Sectional Committee on 'Circular Economy' by 18 Oct 2024 keeping in view the following:

Chairperson of a Sectional Committee shall be a person of eminence/repute by virtue of his/her contribution in the field and/or holding key position in his/her organization and shall be from the related discipline. The term of appointment /reappointment of a Chairperson of a Sectional Committee shall be 3 years.

RESOLUTION 05/2024

Formation of Search Committee

The Council deliberated on the agenda item no. **8.1** and decided to constitute a 'Search Committee' comprising of following members:

- i) Dr Susheela Negi Department of Science and Technology, New Delhi
- ii) Prof Alok Sinha IIT (ISM), Dhanbad
- iii) Dr Amit Bansiwal CSIR-NEERI, Nagpur
- iv) Dr Vinod K. Bhargav ICAR-CIAE, Bhopal
- v) Representative IIFM, Bhopal

The Council requested the Search Committee to provide their recommendations to include the organizations/ experts as members in Sectional Committees of this Council.

RESOLUTION 06/2024

Organization of Workshop by EED and Establishment of Panels Under Environment and Ecology Division Council, EEDC

The Council noted the information under the Agenda Item **4.1** regarding organization of the workshop and commended BIS for its successful execution.

The Council requested the <u>Search Committee</u> to recommend the technical experts in these nine (09) Panels also for enriching them with the pool of experts in order to execute their tasks more effectively.

RESOLUTION 07/2024

Date and Place for the Next Meeting of EEDC

The Council agreed to conduct its next meeting in the First week of March 2025 physical/hybrid mode at BIS, New Delhi. However, if required, it may be preponed with the consultation of the Chairperson.