CED 39 EARTHQUAKE ENGINEERING SECTIONAL COMMITTEE

Resolutions:- 59th Meeting

Document type:	Resolution
Date of document:	25 October 2024
Background:	 The Chairperson (Prof. C. V. R Murty) welcomed all members of CED 39 in its 59th meeting. He requested all the members for their active participation and contribution during the discussions of the meeting and requested all the working groups to start preparing their commentaries and presenting their drafts from the next meeting in the ensuing meetings. With this, the Chairperson requested the Member Secretary to take the agenda item wise.

Resolution Number	Resolutions - CED 39/A2.59 Technical Meeting Chair: Prof. C. V. R. Murty Member Secretary: Shri Jitendra Kumar Chaudhary Sc. B
CED 39/A2.59/RN- 01	Minutes of the last meeting was confirmed by the Sectional Committee.
CED 39/A2.59/RN- 02	The Committee considered the updated draft provided by Shri C. R. Arjun (TCE, Mumbai) of IS 1893 (Part 5) 'Criteria for earthquake resistant design of structures Part 5 Industrial Structures' and recommended to circulate into wide circulation for a period of 45 days for public comments. All the members agreed on the same.
CED 39/A2.59/RN- 03	The Committee considered updated draft of IS 1893 (Part 8) 'Criteria for earthquake resistant design of structures Part 8 Dams Section 1 Concrete and Masonry Dams,' presented by Dr S. D. Bharti (MNIT Jaipur) and recommended to issue the draft into wide circulation for a period of 60 days for comments after incorporating the suggestions made by the members during the meeting. All the members agreed on the same.
CED 39/A2.59/RN- 04	The Committee considered the comment received on IS 15988:2013 'Seismic Evaluation and Strengthening of Existing Reinforced Concrete Buildings – Guidelines' and decided to issue an amendment for ensuring clarification as the matter is urgent and non-controversial.
CED 39/A2.59/RN- 05	The Committee decided to invitee the Dr Ritwik Nandi (from Terre Armee India, New Delhi) and Shri Senthilkumar R (from National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirapalli) to participate in the Working Groups as invitees.
CED 39/A2.59/RN- 06	The meeting ended with thanks to all.
