# **BUREAU OF INDIAN STANDARDS**

## **MINUTES**

Name of the Committee	No. of Meeting	Day	Date	Time	Venue
Electrical Energy Storage Systems Sectional Committee, ETD 52	14th	Mon	11-11-2024	11:00 hrs	Webex (Virtual only)

Chairman: Shri Pankaj Batra Member Secretary: Shri Neeraj Kushwaha

**List of participants:** 

S.No.	Organization	Member Name
1	In Individual Capacity	Shri Pankaj Batra
2	BSES Rajdhani Power Limited, New Delhi	Shri Naveen Nagpal
3	Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation Limited, Kolkata	Shri Debnil Chakraborty
4	Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation Limited, Kolkata	Shri Santanu Sen
5	Denso International India Private Limited, Gurugram Electrical Research and Development Association,	Shri Rohit Yadav
6	Vadodara	Dr. Manmohan Waldiya
7	Energy Efficiency Services Limited, New Delhi	Shri Ashish Sharma
8	IEEE India, Bengaluru	Shri Ravindra Desai
9	India Energy Storage Alliance, Pune	Shri Debi Prasad Dash
10	Indian Electrical and Electronics Manufacturers Association, New Delhi	Shri Kumar Rahul
11	Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, New Delhi	Shri Anil Verma
12	International Copper Association India, Mumbai	Shri Jyotish Pande
13	Lohum Cleantech Private Limited, Greater Noida	Shri Pratyush Sinha
14	National Institute of Technology, Jalandhar	Shri Manoj Morampudi
15	Okaya Power Private Limited, New Delhi	Shri V.K Kapur
16	Power Grid Corporation of India, Gurugram	Shri Manish Tiwari
17	Solar Energy Corporation of India Limited, New Delhi	Shri Prashant Kumar Upadhyay
18	Solar Energy Corporation of India Limited, New Delhi	Shri Muthuraj R
19	The Energy and Resources Institute, New Delhi	Shri A. K. Saxena
20	The Energy and Resources Institute, New Delhi	Shri Mukesh Kumar

### Item 0 WELCOME AND OPENING REMARKS BY CHAIRMAN

Shri Pankaj Batra, Chairman ETD 52, extended a warm welcome to all the members present in the meeting. He informed the Members of the committee that this year India is proudly hosting the next meeting of IEC TC 120 and meetings of its Working Groups from 09<sup>th</sup> December 2024 to 13<sup>th</sup> December 2024, and hence we need to participate with full enthusiasm, as it is a great opportunity for ETD 52 for gaining knowledge and for seeing how the international meetings are conducted. He also stated that in the last meeting of IEC TC 120, India gave a presentation for hosting the next meeting of IEC TC 120 in India, after volunteering for the same a few years back. He stated that this would be a short meeting, with a focus on the event, participation in the various Working Group meetings from the 9<sup>th</sup> to the 11<sup>th</sup> of December, and India's stand on the agenda items in the Plenary Session. With this, he invited all the members to have fruitful discussions during the meeting.

Shri Neeraj Kushwaha, Scientist C/Deputy Director, ETD, welcomed all the participants and wished for a successful discussion on all Agenda points.

### Item 1 CONFIRMATION OF THE MINUTES OF THE LAST MEETING

**1.1** The committee formally approved the minutes of the 13<sup>th</sup> meeting of Electrical Energy Storage Systems Sectional Committee, ETD 52 held on 24-07-2024 were circulated vide email dated 20-08-2024.

### **Item 2 INTERNATIONAL ACTIVITIES**

# 2.1 Participation in the next plenary meeting of IEC TC 120 and meetings of its working groups

The committee noted the information provided.

The committee approved the nominations of the following members for attending the plenary meeting scheduled from 12 to 13 December 2024:

- 1. Shri Neeraj Kushwaha (BIS)
- 2. Dr. Rashi Gupta (Vision Mechatronics)
- 3. Shri Manish Kumar Tiwari (POWERGRID Energy Services)
- 4. Shri Dhirendra Joshi (NTPC-RE)
- 5. Shri Animesh Manna (NTPC-RE)
- 6. Shri A K Saxena (TERI)
- 7. Shri Mukesh Kumar (TERI)
- 8. Shri Kumar Rahul (IEEMA)
- 9. Ms. Ginni (IEEMA)(Alternate member changed and will be updated by IEEMA)
- 10. Shri Naveen Nagpal (BSES Rajdhani)
- 11. Shri Pratyush (Lohum)
- 12. Shri V.K. Kapur (Okaya)
- 13. Shri Manoj Morampudi (NIT Jalandhar)
- 14. Shri Prashant (SECI)
- 15. Shri Muthuraj (SECI)
- 16. Shri Hemanth (ICA)

# 2.2 Review of membership of WG/JWG/MT:

The committee decided to delete the previous representations and update the following Indian representations in the Working groups in IEC TC 120, in view of some of the previous members having no membership at present:

S.No.	WG / JWG / MT	TITLE	INDIAN REPRESENTATIVE
1	<u>WG 1</u>	Terminology	Shri Neeraj Kushwaha
			Shri Rahul Walawalkar
			Shri Santanu Sen
2	<u>WG 2</u>	Unit parameters and testing	Shri Pratyush
		<u>methods</u>	Shri Manish Kumar Tiwari
			Shri Prashant K Upadhyay
			Shri Manoj Morampudi
3	<u>WG 3</u>	Planning and installation	Shri Manish Kumar Tiwari
			Shri Mukesh Kumar
			Shri Naveen Nagpal
			Shri Muthuraj
			Shri Ashish Sharma
			Shri Manoj Morampudi
4	<u>WG 4</u>	Environmental issues	Shri Pratyush Shri Ashish Sharma
5	WG 5	Safety considerations	Shri Naveen Nagpal
	<u>,,, o s</u>	Surety Considerations	Shri Prashant K Upadhayay
6	<u>MT 7</u>	Electrical energy storage (EES) systems - Part 5-2: Safety requirements for grid-integrated EES systems - Electrochemical- based systems	
7	<u>MT 8</u>	Maintenance of IEC 62933-5-1 Ed.1	

## 2.3 Framing India's point of view for the next plenary meeting of IEC TC 120:

The committee decided that the members nominated for the plenary meeting will go through the agenda of IEC TC 120 and provide comments by 20<sup>th</sup> November 2024, on stand to be taken by India on various points. Based on the comments received, the India's viewpoint will be framed.

### Item 3 DATE AND PLACE OF NEXT MEETING

The next committee meeting is planned on 20<sup>th</sup> January 2025. The place will be communicated to the committee with the consultation with the Chairperson.

### **Item 11 ANY OTHER BUSINESS**

There being no further business, the meeting ended with a vote of thanks to Chair.