BUREAU OF INDIAN STANDARDS

MINUTES

Concrete Subcommittee, CED 2:2 Monday, 22 April 2024 Venue : Thirty-Fifth Meeting : 11 AM to 1 PM : Virtual Meeting

Convener: Shri Jose Kurian

Member Secretary: Shri Jitendra Kumar Chaudhary

List of Attendees: Refer Annex A.

ITEM 0 OPENING REMARKS OF CHAIRPERSON

The Chairperson welcomed all the members of the Subcommittee in the 35th meeting of CED 2:2. He requested all the members to actively participate in the discussions of the meeting and provide their valuable suggestions on the agenda item of the meeting. With these initial remarks, he requested the Member Secretary to take the agenda.

The Convener of Working Group on anchorages in concrete, *Shri Anil Sharma* thanked all members of the SubCommittee for providing their valuable inputs which helped to further improve the draft standards and requested that the draft should be sent for wide circulation so as to invite comments/inputs from large number of stakeholders.

ITEM 1 DRAFT STANDARDS ON POST-INSTALLED ANCHORAGES IN CONCRETE

The Committee considered the three draft standards on post-installed anchorages in concrete and invited the SubCommittee to provide their inputs. Shri Shounak Mitra (member, WG) presented the major modifications based on the earlier discussions in the WG meeting and recommendations made by the SubCommittee in its last meeting. After the brief discussions held among the members of the SubCommittee, the following were noted/decided.

- A separate standard on *Installation and Quality Assurance of Post Installed Anchors* shall be prepared to provide guidelines for checking the quality of anchors as well as their connections with the structural members on the field. The SubCommittee requested the Working Group to initiate drafting of this draft standard at the earliest.
- 2) The reference to IS 456 Table 2 shall be dropped from 6.1.2 and 6.1.3 of CED 2 (0098)WD 'Testing and Assessment of Post-Installed Adhesive Anchoring Systems – Code of Practice' and CED 2 (0100)WD 'Testing and

Assessment of Post-Installed Mechanical Anchoring Systems – Code of Practice.

3) The members of the Committee also pointed out that, pending creation of a National body for Review and Approval of Anchors, it should be the responsibility of the owner/project authority to accept the anchors provided by the manufacturers based upon their test certificates and recommendations of the review committee and approval body of their choice.

In view of all the above, the SubCommittee decided that all the three draft standards on anchorages in concrete should be issued in wide circulation for a period of 60 days so as to invite comments from a large audience and thereafter, the drafts can be further modified/improved.

ITEM 2 ANY OTHER BUSINESS

There being no further items for discussion, the meeting ended with thanks to all.

ANNEX A

LIST OF ATTENDEES

SI No.	Name	Organization
1	Shri Jose Kurian	In Personal Capacity, Thiruvalla
	(Convener)	- 1 - 37
2	Shri L. K. Jain	In Personal Capacity, Nagpur
3	Shri Anil Sharma	In Personal Capacity, New Delhi
4	Shri V. V. Arora	In Personal Capacity, Faridabad
5	Shri Amandeep Garg	Creative Design Consultants and Engineers Private Limited, Ghaziabad
6	Shri P. N. Ojha	National Cement Council of Building Materials, Ballabgarh
7	Shri Brijesh Singh	National Cement Council of Building Materials, Ballabgarh
8	Shri Puneet Kaura	National Cement Council of Building Materials, Ballabgarh
9	Dr K. Sivakumar	L&T Construction, Chennai
10	Dr Rajesh Kumar	CSIR – Central Building Research Institute, Roorkee
11	Dr H. C. Arora	CSIR – Central Building Research Institute, Roorkee
12	Dr K. V. L. Subramaniam	Indian Institute of Technology Hyderabad, Hyderabad
13	Dr M. B. Anoop	CSIR – Structural Engineering Research Centre,
14	Shri Prabhat Ranjan Prem	CSIR – Structural Engineering Research Centre,
15	Shri Manoj Kawalkar	Indian Concrete Institute, Chennai
16	Shri Manos Kumar De	Tata Consulting Engineers Limited, Navi Mumbai
17	Shri Uttam Pratap Singh	Cement Manufacturers Association, New Delhi
18	Ms Geeta Bhalla, CMA	Cement Manufacturers Association, New Delhi
19	Mr. K Jayasankar	Cement Manufacturers Association, New Delhi
20	Ms Kamalika Kundu	HILTI India Private Limited, New Delhi
21	Shri Shounak Mitra	HILTI India Private Limited, New Delhi
22	Shri Dinesh Kumar Ujjainia, SE	Central Public Works Department, New Delhi
23	Prof. Mahesh Tandon	Tandon Consultants Private Limited, New Delhi
24	Shri Nikhil Agrawal	Tandon Consultants Private Limited, New Delhi
25	Dr Sudhir Mishra	Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, Kanpur
26	Shri Vinay Gupta	Tandon Consultants Private Limited, New Delhi

From BIS: Shri Jitendra Kumar Chaudhary
